Vice Chancellor’s Awards for Research Excellence 2021

The Vice Chancellor’s awards for Research Excellence acknowledge academic staff members who make contributions to the University community through their outstanding research works. This year, nine awards were awarded to the following recipients during the Postgraduate Convocation 2021 on the 02nd of March 2023 at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall.

Professor WS Chandrasekara currently serves as the Director of the Institute of Human Resource Advancement (IHRA). Professor Chandrasekara has completed his first degree, BA in Sociology (honours) from the University of Colombo, MSSc in Sociology from the University of Kelaniya, and Postgraduate Diploma in Development Studies from the Open University of Sri Lanka and Ph.D. in Administrative Management from Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China. He has introduced new programs, Diploma in Counseling Psychology, Higher Diploma in Counseling Psychology and Postgraduate Diploma in Counseling Psychology. Professor Chandrasekara has published several academic books, and book chapters and has published papers in national and internationally indexed journals and presented papers at many national and international conferences. He has obtained several awards and research grants such as the Award of FES/SLF Research Fellowships for Young Researchers, the Merit Award for Scientific Publication in 2010 and the Presidential Award for Scientific Researcher in 2009 by National Research Council (NRC). Further, Award of ‘Honorary International Graduate’ for best achievements in 2017 graduation from Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China.

For more information visit: